Foundation Staff

Susan Bass Levin
President and Chief Executive Officer

Susan Bass Levin is the President and Chief Executive Officer of The Cooper Foundation at Cooper University Health Care. Her career spans government service and law, as well as leadership in nonprofit and community organizations. Ms. Levin was the mayor of Cherry Hill from 1988 to 2002, served in the cabinet of three governors as the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs, and was the Deputy Executive Director of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.

Susan is the Co-chair of Cooper’s Ferry, an economic development organization, and serves on the board of the Cherry Hill Library, the Camden Health and Athletic Association and the KIPP Cooper Norcross Academy. She has been a member of the Board of Literacy Volunteers, Chamber of Commerce of Southern New Jersey and Boys and Girls Club. She is a founding member and State President of the New Jersey Association of Women Business Owners.

Ms. Levin has been honored by many organizations for her work in the public and private sectors, including NJ Association of Women Lawyers, Executive Women of New Jersey, Walter Rand Institute for Public Affairs at Rutgers, Camden Churches Organized for People, Women in Transportation, Women in Construction, Chamber of Commerce of Southern New Jersey, Women’s Political Caucus, Girl Scouts and Boys and Girls Club. A graduate of the University of Rochester (Phi Beta Kappa), Ms. Levin received her law degree from George Washington Law School (with High Honors) where she was a member of the Law Review. She is the mother of two daughters, and grandmother to Maddie, Will and Charlie.

Susan is proud of her work building the Cherry Hill Library, the MD Anderson Cancer Center at Cooper and KIPP Cooper Norcross Academy at Whittier School in Camden, as well her work with women and children throughout her career.

Robert A. Ortiz, Jr., Esq.
Vice President of Development 

Brian Bauerle
Assistant Vice President Foundation Community Development 

Suzanne Winderman
Director of Special Projects

Amber Oakley, MPA
Project Manager

Tara Elk
Program & Marketing Manager

Jessica Hreno
Project Development Coordinator

Mary Grace Perry
Marketing & Event Specialist

Tricia Clarke
Gift Processing & Database Specialist

Catherine Hardesty
Community Programs & Grant Manager

Rebecca Sowers
Graphics & Digital Media Coordinator